Conference Organization & Technical Reviewing:

  • Associate editor for Proceedings of the IEEE on Future of Spectrum Access, May 2014
  • Board of Directors for WINFORUM, 2014
  • Editorial Board Member for the Proceedings of the IEEE
  • IEEE Fellows Selection Committee for Computer Society
  • General Chair DySPAN 2014

Federal & State:

  • US Department of Commerce CSMAC to advise on spectrum technology and policy, July 2014
  • President’s Council of Advisors in Science and Technology working group on transitioning federal spectrum for commercial use and economic growth, 2011-2012.
  • Army Research Office Board of Visitors, 2012- 2013
  • Idaho National Labs Advisory Board, 2012 - present
  • National Science Foundation workshop co-organizer, Enhancing Access to the Radio Spectrum, August, 2010. Led to the establishment of NSF program.
  • US Dept. of Commerce Committee on EARS Regulations 2008-2009. A Federal Advisory Committee Appointed by the Secretary of Commerce To examine EARS Regulations. 2009.

University Professional Service Current & Past:

  • Distinguished Lecturer for the IEEE Vehicular Technology 2010-2014
  • Director Wireless @ Virginia Tech, 2006-2014